Skip Navigation
Official website of the United States Government U.S. Department of the Treasury
Bureau of the Fiscal Service Home
Central Accounting Reporting System


Account Statement
Provides agencies with a central source for retrieving a near real time picture of their account balances to facilitate the maintenance of the Fund Balance with Treasury (FBWT). The Account Statement will present appropriation and non-expenditure activity and display summary transactions (payment schedules, deposit tickets) by both TAS and the ALC initiating the transaction.
ALC (Agency Location Code)
A numeric symbol identifying the agency accounting and/or reporting office.
BETC (Business Event Type Code)
An eight-character code that indicates the type of activity being reported (borrowing, repayment, offsetting collection, receipt, disbursement, etc.) It is used in combination with the TAS to determine the transaction effect on the fund balance with Treasury.
CAFÉ (Central Accounting Front End Module)
Provides capability to process transactions from payment, collection and intergovernmental systems containing accounting information i.e., Treasury Account Symbol (TAS) etc. impacting Fund Balance with Treasury (FBWT), into the Federal Government Central Accounting System (CAS).
CKey Classification Key
A unique agency classification code assigned to a transaction. Agencies will establish Ckeys in SAM for collection and/or payment type transactions that will be used to derive the appropriate values of TAS/BETC(s) from the agency’s internal accounting information.
Classification, Transactions, and Accountability (CTA) Module
This module replaced the old Partial 224. Treasury Disbursing Offices report their monthly accounting activity to Treasury via CTA.
GWA (Governmentwide Accounting and Reporting Modernization Project)
Addresses the central accounting and reporting functions and processes associated with budget execution, accountability, and cash/other asset management. GWA will improve information timeliness and accuracy to support improved financial analysis and decision-making.
GWA Non-Reporter
An Agency Location Code (ALC) that is classifying Treasury Account Symbol (TAS) and Business Event Type Code (BETC) at the point of initiation on their Payments, Collections or Intra-governmental transactions. This new process allows ALCs to eliminate the end of month reporting, Statement Of Differences and provides them with timely information.
Provisional View of the Account Statement:
The Provisional Account Statement allows GWA Reporters to see and reconcile their FBWT on a daily basis.
SAM (Shared Accounting Module)

A utility/tool to help Agencies meet the GWA requirement to classify all transactions with the appropriate Treasury Account Symbol (TAS) and Business Event Type Code (BETC),[TAS/BETC] before entry into the Government Wide Accounting system.

Agencies will establish:

  • Classification Keys (CKeys) that will be used to derive the appropriate values of TAS/BETC(s) from the agencies internal accounting information. For Collection transactions only.
  • Default Classification Rules so that transactions that do not contain a valid TAS/BETC can be classified appropriately prior to entry into GWA.
  • CAFÉ, as well as other Fiscal Service systems, will call upon SAM to verify values of TAS/BETC.
  • SAM will also provide reference information on valid Agency Location Codes (ALCs) and TAS/BETC(s) to help agencies properly classify their transactions.
TAS Treasury Account Symbol
The receipt, expenditure, appropriation, and other fund account symbols and titles as assigned by Treasury.
Testing Period
Testing phase or data analysis process which is part of the ALC transition process. During this time the agency continues to report transactions the current way, but including TAS/BETC classification information that will be used for testing purpose. Reporting discrepancies and statement of differences are discussed during this period. GWA recommends the testing period to last at least two months.
Transition Period
Described as the process of becoming a GWA Reporter for IPAC, Payment, or Collections. The process includes three different phases: preparation, parallel reporting, and implementation.

Last modified 11/19/18